top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Tesseract


This weeks activity involved the use of normal maps. Normal maps are a texture you can apply to objects in MAYA to make them look more detailed than they really are. So for this I had to recreate a cube and give it a form of the Tesseract.


For this I created the cube extruding the faces and adding a level 2 bevel to it. Afterwards I sent it into Mud box to begin the process. For this I created a layer to add the stencils to the sides of cube and then imprinted them onto the box. Afterwards I added a second stencil overlapping the first. After that I personally struggled to understand the next part. Eventually I realized afterwards I needed to go back to the first layer and mask the second stencil onto it to cut out the first stencil. After comprehending that I finished the imprints on mud box. The final part was me adjusting the strength by lowering it to provide a more realistic feel.

From there I went back to MAYA to apply it to the original box. Overall this hasn't been to bad for me as I have produced work I'm confident in. The only negative was being too proud to ask for help originally as without it I wouldn't have done it.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page