top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Alien head(1st try)

Updated: Dec 12, 2018

Continuing to develop my 3D modelling skills by having at some point a full 3D monster. This started on Maya with a cube which was imported to Mudbox. From there It was about using the pinch tool to eventually create a head. For this I used the pinch tool to stretch across what I imagined to be the face.


From there I upgraded the level as well as its poly count. By each level I was able to increase the detail being shown in the cubes.

This is the mud box head finished imported in MAYA. However there is more work following the pipeline procedure. Afterwards I then need to quad draw over this. For this I used the base head and I went to make it live. From there I went on to the quad draw tool to make a basic version of the original object. This was something severely struggled with as again I was fighting with the tool and making how i envisioned it rather than how it should have been.

Above shows the quad drawn head. I think it requires to be symmetrical as it in't pleasing on the eye and just looks unprofessional. Aside from that It has been done to successfully. This is the product of many attempts so I think there would be a higher degree of quality.



Afterwards I went to generate a normal map which is a texture that is applied to an object give the effect of detail on more basic looking models. For mine though I am unsure of the results I have received and will seek help to resolve this matter.


Overall this has been a frustrating process which has required multiple attempts in order to achieve. At this point I am still not confident in my abilities adapting this pipeline workflow so I will need to improve on that.


Ultimately this hasn't been a success as there is little detail being shown to the second version so i will need to develop a different head to show more detail across

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page