top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Alien body( 1st try)

Updated: Dec 12, 2018


Following on with the alien head I also had to create a body to go with the aliens head following the same process using the pipeline.


Starting it off I was on Mudbox repeating the process used for the alien head. This was by going onto a human body removing the head, hands and feet to give me the torso and limbs. Then I went on to leveling up the body poly count adding more detail. this time I tried to refrain myself from adding complicated body details as I knew that would only make it harder for myself up the road.


Overall this body is a mess, its a body but it isn't that impressive. whilst I wanted to keep it as simplistic as I could, on reflection I could have done more to make it look less like an inflated human torso.


Afterwards I needed to go onto MAYA and for that I needed a body to quad draw over. For this I made a primitive body that vaguely follows a similar look to be drawn on and then used to add detail in later.

Afterwards I went onto quad drawing. This is the most complicated part of the process for me as it feels like a broken puzzle. I learned it is important not to fight the process and follow the flow of the body. It took me several attempts to fully get in the mindset of how to do it but I finally got there. The next part of the process was to generate a normal map out of it. A 'normal map' is the process of adding a texture to an object to make it loo far more detailed than the reality of it.


This is the result of me generating the normal map and it is noticeably bad. I think redoing it the primitive body could have looked more like the mud box body as they are very different and I think i was too concerned about having the work be hard I ended up making it hard for myself so I need to think more thoroughly moving on.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page