top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Final art piece

Updated: Apr 29, 2019


This is the second part of the final art assignment. As well as the concept artist analysis I was also provided to create a piece in the style of Rafael Martin. Instead of replicating a frame from the animation I decided to create my own piece trying to replicate his art style as a result this piece means more for me. This plays into the analysis where I brought up how the environments showcased in the animation reflect the footballers lives. With that I placed the footballers in the area I was brought up. This is know where near as bad as the favelas in Brazil but it is a place with significance to me and who I am so I choose it to be the environment for my piece to be set.


To do so I needed a picture of my former road which I accessed online and warped it so the lines were more diagonal to match the building style showcased in 'The Last Game' and as a result the buildings stand out more as they're abnormal. From there I went out to create the line work for the piece.

Afterwards I needed to create the players to inhabit the picture so after looking I saw pictures I could use that fitted in perspective of the picture. The players I chose were Cristiano Ronaldo dos Santos Aveiro and Pedro Eliezer Rodríguez Ledesma. Ronaldo was easiest to draw as he features in the animation so altering him was easier to make him look animated. Pedro was harder as he didn't feature in the animation so I had to compare him with Franck Ribery as they are the same build and of similar height. It was harder to make Pedro seem animated because he is already slim so all I could really do was to make his ankles smaller.

Overall I would say this is my best piece I've ever done and that is partially down to the significance to me as it features some of my sporting idols as well as it being set somewhere I used to live makes me appreciate it more. Additionally I think I replicated Martins style effectively creating a different environment which stands out in this piece. I am proud of this piece and am likely to re visit it to add in more details.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page