top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Synoptic project part x

After the completion of the news shots I went to the final composition where I had the job to edit the final piece as I was also in charge of the music. Starting it off i placed in my news shots to the composition ready to be used. Afterwards i sought out my associates about creating a glitch transition effect but they were unsuccessful in doing so, so I took the matters in to my own hands and found something to help me create a good one.

After having the first 5 shots my colleagues had finished other shots with special effects to allow me to build up the final cut. the next part was to implement the music into it. With the morning montage I originally planned to have a different track play instead of the final outcome but after editing the song to the best of my abilities it didn't flow so I had to use the backup

After working on the music for the first part my team were able to complete and supply me with the shots I could then work on the last part with music. This time around though I would say it was easier because the shot was shorter so all I needed to do was fade it out before there is dialogue.

After that my group and I visited the on campus audio studio to dub over a line to add in. Due to unforeseen circumstances when filming on that day the wind made it inaudible on top of the mic I was using was poor so we were in need of dubbing over the line. Dubbing over the line was a weird experience as I watched the footage on repeat and had to step in and say my line when the time came. Dubbing over was successful so I managed to place that in with the other lines.


Looking over the footage I realized the wind had caused other issues even in shots where there is no dialogue. Some shots just had the wind in which was really distracting when watching as it takes away from it so I cut out the sound all together but that felt off. I then decided to add in ambiance noise to serve in the background and make the scene feel more authentic. I then placed in the some sound effects after tweaking to add to the cut.


The last part of the sound was editing working on my fiends voice to add in to the composition. I struggled to find tutorials with quality so I turned to one of my lecturers on how to edit sound and told me the various ways to do so. This was a process of constant tweaking until i had a sound affect I was happy with.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Synoptic project evaluation

At the start of the academic year it was announced that 50% of the grade would come from a synoptic project where everyone is tasked to...

Comments


bottom of page