top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's picturebwake2000

Induction project: Post production

Updated: Sep 28, 2018

With the production completed I then went into the longest and hardest part being the post production phase.



Firstly I used after effects to key out the the green screen. For this I used the colour dropper tool to get a dark green which I then removed. Then I proceeded to mask out most of the borders to remove the shadows and anything else that may have gotten in the shot. However a big issue occurred when the Light was in the shot and caused a shadow at the top. As my hands go through it the best way to solve the issue was create 2 masks. The first being A mask to remove the shadow with the second being a mask which covers the hand and removes the shadow. The issue there being that this mostly had to be removed frame by frame resulting in the production taking longer than expected.

From there the other pair would be added in. The process is identical so it was just keying out the green and masking out any impurities. However the issue still remained of shadows but the top shadow wasn't as noticeable as the footage from my shoot.


From there it was about adding in the various created backgrounds to the project. From this point it became mostly about the 'elf yourself' part of the video. So for this I had to create a mask around the face. Afterwards I went to the tracker section and selected the detailed face tracker to track the facial features. Afterwards the faces were dragged on to give it an authentic look.

The final part of the post production was tying everything together. So for this the first shot developed in unity was added. In addition to this the music was also added and a festive message. Overall it came out fine. If I were to re-do it I would thoroughly check the environment before filming to stop the chance of shadows as they were quite problematic. Alternatively if given a larger time frame I think I would have managed to mask out the lower shadows which were less noticeable but were there none the less. Additionally I would try to improve the overall quality of my editing skills as my involvement in post production wasn't shown that much as a lot of my footage was just for me to work on and improve my skills so next time it would be nice to see more of the footage I worked on get in the final cut.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

updates

1 Scum and agile https://bwake2000.wixsite.com/website/blog/synoptic-production 2 Team work https://bwake2000.wixsite.com/website/blog/sy...

コメント


bottom of page